Hoping For Grace…

I dread waking up in mornings not sure if i’ll be able to handle a run, knowing that an injury has not been healed completely. I know, i know… i rested for a couple of days already, well it’s been a week and i just can’t wait to get re-started and see if the Plantar Fascia has responded to the ice massage, stretching, doses of Vitamin I (Ibuprofen) and rest! I still feel that bit of slight twinge early mornings when i get up from bed, which is quite normal with this condition but warms up a little when i’m already up and about.

That's the one under

My apologies to Betty and Tonette for not being able to run with you..specially Betty who’ll be running Hongkong in two weeks time. The spirit is willing but my foot says ouch!…so there.

So this morning, i woke up at 4:30am and it was still chilly. After much more musing of whether to run or not, i finally donned my shoes and gear, stretched those calf muscles and plantar fascia, headed out the gate and started to run very slowly… well jog is the right term. I tried not to be too conscious of my ailing foot although i did change my foot strike a bit, opting more to land on my midfoot so as not to put pressure on the heel where the pain usually occur (see illustration above).

For the first time, it was great not to feel any discomfort and running my route via Anonas, Xavierville Road, Katipunan Avenue then to CP Garcia and finally inside UP was a breeze although i could feel the exhaustion every time i ran those uphills, the effect of having lost some of my fitness during the interim. It was a good 5k, better than i expected and although the foot felt a little queasy, it was generally ok.

The Condura marathon is looming, and it’s just 3 weeks away! And i should come to terms whether it’ll still be wise for me to run the full mary or just sit tight and wait for this injury to completely heal. And the prospect of waiting is just sooo outrageously long!

To Condura or not?

No, it’s now too late for me to join the Black Nazarene procession!

Have mercy!
9 responses to “Hoping For Grace…

  1. Hi Jazzrunner. I too suffered from Plantar Fasciitis. Not to put your hopes down, but I had to refrain from running for 5 months. No amount of therapy (electro or ultrasound waves) made it go away. It was complete rest, Plantar Fascia specific stretching, AND a very formidable custom fit ARCH SUPPORT that I wore inside my shoes for walking (not running). I bought them at ORTHOPAEDIE FREY addr: 87 East Capitol Drive, Kapitolyo, Pasig City, tel 6342705 http://ortho-frey.tripod.com/ They also have arch support for sports activities. Hope this helps.

    • Hi Jojo! I’ve almost surrendered myself of this injury and it was foolish of me to run 19k last Monday just to see what would happen. The irritation is persistent and stretching alone doesnt cut it out. Thanks for the tips and i’ll surely drop by on the clinic/store you mentioned.

      Thanks for dropping by!:-)

  2. it also matters that you see the right professionals ti give you different perspectives. if it is a true fascitis (other conditions mimic it), a local steroid injection can get rid of it in a week.

    • Thanks Rheysonn! I’m really contemplating of getting one if conservative treatment doesn’t respond to it.

      • you can get a hold of my friend at manualmed.blogspot.com. if what you are doing now hasn’t worked, it will not work. if you got relief but are on painkillers anyway, it didn’t work. just talk to him and consider other options.

Leave a Reply

