QCIM3: Getting One Before The Year End!

I’m sitting here tired and exhausted, trying not to over-indulge on yesterday’s marathon effort at the QCIM3. Because running this distance is never easy and doing it under-trained can pose a lot of problems. But somehow, i got through it all with perseverance, determination and with two very sore heels and a king-size blister!

With some friends before the race (thanks to Vans for the photo)

As i listen to some Andrew Hill music with friend June, celebrating my finish between sips of Fundador (ok, it’s Emperador lights, actually) i’m feeling the knots in my muscle and the gratification that i finished another big one, my first marathon for 2011, after months of injury… not sure if i can ever run one again.

I was supposed to be running this marathon as a long, training run, a prelude to what i had been aiming for, the Condura Marathon in early February. I wasn’t following any training schedule really, and treated Sunday races as my long runs with the Run United3 32k being my longest which was done about 4 weeks prior. After that, it was like tapering all the way with no other significant long runs after that. Well, the Nathan Ridge 21k run was a long walk-run affair so that doesn’t count.

The QCIM race went well, felt strong during the first 24k until cramps hit me on the 25th kilometer and had to run-walk until i got my rhythm back at 28k. I finished the race in 5:27:11 (chip time).

Crossing the finish line (Thanks to Les for the photo)

I’m already looking forward to the next one, maybe Cebu or Subic, can’t say if i’m doing the full or maybe just the half-marathon but we’ll see.

To those who ran QCIM3, congratulations to you all! You can view the results here: http://www.strider.ph.

10 responses to “QCIM3: Getting One Before The Year End!

      • no sir. I didn’t have an ideal race. I tried to catch up with you pero sobrang lakas nyo sir! hehehe…

        nagiisip tuloy akong mag42k uli soon! haha…

      • Roelle, thinking of doing Subic too before Condura. I’d like to do more of these long races including an ultra by next year.

        See you soon!:-0

Leave a Reply

